Do you keep your birds near your dog?

JFS

Do you keep your birds near your dog?

Post by JFS » Sun Aug 24, 2008 9:33 am

Hi folks. I'm just starting to train my 6 mo old Brittany (I'm a first time dog trainer). He's done well on obedience and has seen pigeons once and was very interested. I am going to get some birds for him, but I live in the suburbs and have limited space (plus my wife is worried about what the neighbors will say). There's really no way to arrange a house for homers, so I've got a small coop (3 x 4) just to store quail in between purchase and training. It would be better if I could put it behind my house, but that would put it inside my fence, which is where my dog has free run. The coop is only 2 feet off the ground and made of 1x1 wire mesh, and I can't see that being a good arrangement with him. So I am putting it on the side of the house just outside the fence and hope the HOA doesn't catch on. Fortunately I don't think it violates the convenants, but who wants a dispute.

Does anyone worry about having the birds stored close to their dog? The coop is 6 inches on the other side of a picket fence from him. He showed a lot of excitement when exposed to the pigeons, and I don't want him to become complacent about the presence of birds. Any thoughts?

zzweims

Re: Do you keep your birds near your dog?

Post by zzweims » Sun Aug 24, 2008 9:49 am

Do you have a garage? Your situation is not ideal, but sometimes, ya gotta do what ya gotta do.

Aline
http://sitekreator.com/zzfarms
Georgia Quail Hunting--"Our farm, your dog"

mudhunter

Post by mudhunter » Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:08 am

My dogs can get close to the bird pen, they love to watch them. I haven't seen any negative affects in the field, just my expierence.

hustonmc

Post by hustonmc » Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:57 pm