Questions about SIT & RELEASE commands...

brookf

Questions about SIT & RELEASE commands...

Post by brookf » Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:00 pm

Hello Everyone,

This is my first dog since I was 12 so please excuse the noob questions. The first 2 commands I want to teach my 10 week old pup is SIT and RELEASE (as per the advice of James Spencer's book) The pup knows his name (doesn't always respond) but when he does he comes up to me and sits automatically. So is the best way to teach him the SIT command force him to stand up, give the SIT command, force him to sit and then reward?

Also for the RELEASE command is it best to hold him, throw a desired object, then give the command and release him, then reward when (or if!) he returns with it?
Also tring to use RELEASE when he exits the crate...
Thanks for any advice--
Brook

sn0wdude

Re: Questions about SIT & RELEASE commands...

Post by sn0wdude » Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:56 am

I'm training my second pup now she's 13 weeks. Im no pro, but have been doing really well with my two pups. All my information comes from Reading and rereading the book "Game Dog" By Wolters. Definatly reccommend this book. Any and all articles I find on the net. Here's what I'm doing and its going really well.

When Jewls was 10 weeks old all I did with her was play fetch in a hallway so she had no where to go but straight back to me. Hopefully your pup likes carrying something in his or her mouth as much as Jewls. Soon as she got back I would say drop, Open her mouth with one hand take the bumper and immediatly throw it again. Never hold on to the bumper for long at this age. The whole time giving lots of praise. Do that every morning and night for about five to 10 minutes for at least a week and she always love to bring things back to you. It will even get little annoying sometimes.