Busting birds

56-26

Busting birds

Post by 56-26 » Tue Oct 28, 2008 10:25 am

I am new to hunting with my own dog and it was years ago when I hunted with other dogs. I have a 1 yr old Vizsla that I had a buddy help my train. It seems like the pat two times that I been out with him he has busted more birds than pointed. My buddy has always told me that unless he points the bird don't shoot it. My question is he busting the bird or are the running on him and flushing and should I shoot them. When the birds flush they are never right in front of him, normaly 2o ft or so away in front of him. I can tell that he is birdy and trail something when they flush. So is it something the he is doing or is the bird just running and should I shoot. If its him should I go back to the basic and plant some bird with him on a check cord and try to steady him up. He hunted with 2 dogs about 3 weeks ago and the would bust bird and their owner would shoot them and I think that may have something to do with it. Thanks for any help.

Ditch__Parrot

Re: Busting birds

Post by Ditch__Parrot » Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:27 am

At 20ft I'd be inclined to guess that they are busting from the preasure he's putting on them. Wild birds are more jumpy than pen raised it will take a young dog awhile to figure out how much preassure he can put on them. But if you shoot anyway he'll figure it don't matter. Some wild birds will flush even if he works them perfect. Shooting those is up to you and has more to do with what your plans and expectaions are for your dog. IF you plan on trialing don't. While hunting wild birds a dog will pick up bad habbits and will likely have to be periodically steadied back up. Hunting with somebody with flushing dogs and a "if it fly's it dies" attitude they will pick up bad habbits very quick.

56-26

Post by 56-26 » Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:56 am