scared and gone

sparkyjtne

scared and gone

Post by sparkyjtne » Sat Dec 06, 2008 9:19 am

Hi folks im a new member (today). I recently bought a chessy from a seemingly reputable breeder. He had told me that the dog was gun broke and they had been shooting over the pups already. With this in mind we had been retrieving in the yard and after doing pretty good with sit and give i decided to try taking him on a duck hunt. He swam in the icy water like a champ and sat right with us until we shot and then he was gone. 2 hours later we found him and he is so scared now he wont even go into the woods. I tried another time to get him to the lake with no guns and he is so scared of the woods that he shakes and runs for the truck. Does anybody have any advise im not a proffesional trainer and would like thi dog to hunt but am having trouble with resources for this problem. Thanks in advance. jt

BellaDad

Re: scared and gone

Post by BellaDad » Sat Dec 06, 2008 9:44 am

How many people were shooting? I've heard too many people shooting can mess a dog up even if it is gun broke.

sparkyjtne

Post by sparkyjtne » Sat Dec 06, 2008 9:55 am

2 of us shooting and then the second time when i just walked in there were a lot of shots but they were a hundred yards away. I love this dog already he is 6 months and just huge and ive never seen a dog swim like this. He is my first hunting dog and dont know what to do.

Benny

Post by Benny » Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:00 am

back to square one

do you have a .22 LR or an air gun even? I bet your getting the idea.

Start real slow again, though. I think you're going to have to go gun free for a bit to get that trust back.
Oregon State University
USFS - Hotshot

gonehuntin'
GDF Junkie

Post by gonehuntin' » Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:47 am