My 3rd Grade Quail Pen

Benny

My 3rd Grade Quail Pen

Post by Benny » Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:52 pm

Hey I'm no carpenter, but I thought I would try. Nothing serious, just something to hold them for a few days from the buyer to the field. I might try to add a cylinder on the side so it can be used as a recall box, but all in good time.

Now I have quail. I just don't know what to do with the little buggers :D
Oregon State University
USFS - Hotshot

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Re: My 3rd Grade Quail Pen

Post by Sharon » Mon Dec 29, 2008 7:53 pm

Looks good. I'm a teacher and I'd say an A+ pen. :)
I use a small dog pen with tightly wound wire. Be careful keeping them outside on the ground. I lost all mine to a cat - sticking her paws through the pen managed to rip them some. It's amazing how far they can get a paw in.
At trials I see them feed greens to the quail ( lettuce etc.) I don't know why. I only feed water and fine chick starter.

PS Looks like you're building that in the living room. Hmmm . I know what I'd say. :)
Last edited by Sharon on Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
" We are more than our gender, skin color, class, sexuality or age; we are unlimited potential, and can not be defined by one label." quote A. Bartlett

Benny

Post by Benny » Tue Dec 30, 2008 3:22 pm

Sharon wrote:Looks good. I'm a teacher and I'd say an A+ pen. :)
Thanks! Nails were too big and split the hemlock 1x1.5's at almost every end :x