Train Help-1st exposure to planted birds revealed problems

Baldwin Eagles

Train Help-1st exposure to planted birds revealed problems

Post by Baldwin Eagles » Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:36 pm

Hey all,

I've owned my ESS for about 5 months now,he is one year old. I just exposed him to his 1st planted birds through a local hunt club, and it did not go as well as I hoped. It only highlighted some of the bad habits I have allowed my pup to acquire as a result of not really knowing what I am doing. I should mention he is my 1st dog and I am totally new to this.

While I can say I am totally stoked that he is not gun shy and had a blast flushing birds, although his lack of obedience was obvious. After joining a local hunt club I was fortunate enough to get him exposed to birds, and it went well. But I was also exposed to other well trained dogs, as well as some other training methods I was totally oblivious to.

He doesn't stay close enough and won't come. When I would walk the fields with him prior to being exposed to birds, he never got that far away. But know that he has been exposed, he gets too far away out of gun range, and won't come when called.

Additionally, when training, he won't retrieve anything other than tennis balls. Unfortunately, when we planted some pigeons for him, he will flush and find, but only brings it back halfway. His retrieve isn't all that great either.

I made the mistake of only using tennis balls to train retrieve. I never in a million years would have thought this might be detrimental to his development as a hunter, but it looks like it might be. I can hide a tennis ball in the deepest of cover, and he will find it, and bring it right back to me. Anything else, nothing.