Young Dog Eating Birds

Grits

Young Dog Eating Birds

Post by Grits » Fri Sep 11, 2009 9:49 am

I have a 7-month old GSP and she will retrieve dummies all day long on land and water. However, I have shot about 10-15 pigeons over her and she will find and begin to eat the bird with very little interest in bringing it back. She also chewed up the only dove I have been able to shoot this year. I did work with her a little with some dead pigeons and she retrieved them great out of the water when she was about 4 months old, maybe she just couldn't eat and swim.... Anyhow, this is my first bird dog and I have no idea how to correct this in a manner that does not turn her off of birds. Please help!!
Last edited by Grits on Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:12 am, edited 2 times in total.

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Re: Young Dog Eating Birds

Post by Sharon » Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:44 am

I'm no expert on retrieving but it seems to me that the dog has been mouthing tennis balls and bringing them to you and now there's a bird to mouth and eat. Probably the two items are not different in the dog's mind. You need some good resources: "Fowl Dawgs" is a good one and there are some good threads on here by Crackered and Evan that you could search out for other good resources and helps
" We are more than our gender, skin color, class, sexuality or age; we are unlimited potential, and can not be defined by one label." quote A. Bartlett

Grits

Post by Grits » Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:21 pm

Thanks Sharon,

We rarely use tennis balls. But I'll check out the book. I appreciate the advise!

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Post by Sharon » Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:30 pm

Lol Don't know where I came up with tennis balls - sorry. Ah, I know. I've been watching The US Open all week. :D
" We are more than our gender, skin color, class, sexuality or age; we are unlimited potential, and can not be defined by one label." quote A. Bartlett

adogslife

Post by adogslife » Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:40 pm