Bird Launcher Issue

moknowz

Bird Launcher Issue

Post by moknowz » Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:12 pm

I'm sure this is a stupid question but how do you keep pen raised quail from sneaking out of the bird launcher? I am new to the use of bird launchers for training. I have the small Scott launcher and am using pen raised quail for training 2 young pointers. As I said....a stupid question. Any help is appreciated!

goddog

Post by goddog » Sat Oct 22, 2005 5:06 pm

Not sure how a Scott is constructed but I don't think a quail shouldn't escape a well-made launcher that's working Properly.
Find out how and where the bird is getting out and rectify it accordingly, just make sure your modification does not interfere with the working mechanism.

llewgor

Post by llewgor » Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:31 pm

moknowz
I have 2 scott launchers I bought from lcs, but I never used quail in the launchers only pigeons. I see the problem is in the design where a smaller bird could crawl out one side of the canvas and escape. I wonder if you can dizzy the birds up before you load them and maybe they'll stay put long enough before they're launch.

Another idea might be to get some velcro strips and tape it to the canvas to close the ends. I don't think that would restrict the launch any, those are pretty powerful launchers.

Good luck I hope this help.
Billy
"Change the way you look at things, and the things you look at change"

http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/3genview.php?id=147

http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/3genview.php?id=152

Casper

Post by Casper » Sat Oct 22, 2005 11:23 pm

llewgor I think hit the nail on the head.

I read elsewhere that on the scott and I think the innotek had just enough room that quail can squeeze their way out.

I havent had the same problem because I to use pigeons but you could try and put a couple quail in them and wait to see where they come out than try and modify that part so they cant.

grant
GDF Junkie

Post by grant » Sun Oct 23, 2005 10:20 am