Training Collar

hollymadsenripley

Training Collar

Post by hollymadsenripley » Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:59 pm

I am new at this and trying to get the proper equipment. I was looking at all the TriTronic training collars and there are SO many. Different types, then series within that category. I am starting with a GSP and want to start with the basics commands...here..whoa..etc. I am starting from scratch. Never used a collar before and have trainer who is going to start working with me and a dog in a couple of weeks. Can anyone direct me to a good collar to purchase? Is it just what you wanna spend?
Holly Madsen-Ripley

topher40
GDF Junkie

Re: Training Collar

Post by topher40 » Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:09 pm

Ask the trainer that you are employing, they should know what to recommend. :wink:
Chris E. Kroll
CEK Kennels
http://www.cekkennels.com
785-288-0461

Governments govern best when governments governs least

-Thomas Paine

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Post by Sharon » Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:11 pm

I assume you are just shopping and not planning on using it on the dog yet. I normally wait until the dog is 4-6 months old.
I have a Tritronics Sport Basic G3 . It is very basic but has been all I've needed. Very durable, no problems.
" We are more than our gender, skin color, class, sexuality or age; we are unlimited potential, and can not be defined by one label." quote A. Bartlett

hollymadsenripley

Post by hollymadsenripley » Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:45 pm

Thank you. I do plan on asking the trainer. I like to get more feedback and more than one opinion. :) Thank you so much I was looking at the Sport collar and wondering if that would do.
Holly Madsen-Ripley

RayGubernat
GDF Junkie

Post by RayGubernat » Thu Dec 31, 2009 1:38 pm

Some of the things you may wish to consider when deciding which collar to buy are related to exactly how the collar is going to be used. For example: