New to Bird Hunting

ALDS

New to Bird Hunting

Post by ALDS » Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:29 am

Hey all. Another Noob here.... My wife and I unexpectedly received a bird dog from her family for Christmas. He is a German Shorthair/ Griffon mix. About 3 months old now. I want to train him and get into bird hunting. I've been trying to get all the info I can. I'm currently reading, "How To Help Gun Dogs Train Themselves" by Joan Bailey. I guess I'm just nervous to get started because I don't know what to expect out in the field. All the training at home will be easy, but I'm worried about out in the field. I'm going to take him out in the field later today for the first time. Are there any good pointers for the first time? The biggest thing I'm worried about is letting him off his lease and all of a sudden he decides to take off somewhere instead of staying around me. Any tips on this? Thanks!

Greg Jennings
GDF Junkie

Re: New to Bird Hunting

Post by Greg Jennings » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:08 am

ALDS wrote:Hey all. Another Noob here.... My wife and I unexpectedly received a bird dog from her family for Christmas. He is a German Shorthair/ Griffon mix. About 3 months old now. I want to train him and get into bird hunting. I've been trying to get all the info I can. I'm currently reading, "How To Help Gun Dogs Train Themselves" by Joan Bailey. I guess I'm just nervous to get started because I don't know what to expect out in the field. All the training at home will be easy, but I'm worried about out in the field. I'm going to take him out in the field later today for the first time. Are there any good pointers for the first time? The biggest thing I'm worried about is letting him off his lease and all of a sudden he decides to take off somewhere instead of staying around me. Any tips on this? Thanks!
Right now, you should get some bird exposure and work on basic obedience. Don't worry about any more training till the dog is quite a bit older.