Dog running off

fatboyoutdoors

Dog running off

Post by fatboyoutdoors » Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:17 pm

Have been working my 14 month old GSP on a check cord and he works well. Take the cord off, and off he goes..running like a crazy freak chasing everything with no control. I haven't exposed him to a shock collar. Is this the key? Also, what about taking his jewels...will this settle him down? I have only had the dog a couple of weeks. Has good basic discipline, very needy for attention. I am new to the game...need suggestions.

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Re: Dog running off

Post by Sharon » Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:02 pm

" We are more than our gender, skin color, class, sexuality or age; we are unlimited potential, and can not be defined by one label." quote A. Bartlett

A/C Guy

Post by A/C Guy » Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:02 pm

fatboyoutdoors wrote: what about taking his jewels...will this settle him down? .
No!
LongTermHealthEffectsOfSpayNeuterInDogs.pdf
Studies have proven that neutering a male will increase the chances of getting cancer by a factor of EIGHT TIMES compared to an intact dog.

You need to work on basic obedience. Then possibly add an e-collar to your training.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"Always vote for principle, though you may vote alone, and you may cherish the sweetest reflection that your vote is never lost." John Quincy Adams.

slistoe
GDF Junkie

Post by slistoe » Tue Mar 09, 2010 11:46 pm

fatboyoutdoors wrote:Have been working my 14 month old GSP on a check cord and he works well. Take the cord off, and off he goes..running like a crazy freak chasing everything with no control.