Dog Pointing Field Mice

fatboyoutdoors

Dog Pointing Field Mice

Post by fatboyoutdoors » Wed Mar 24, 2010 8:28 am

Ok...I know...crazy...But...I am new to this game. Have a 14 month old GSP that was a rescue dog. He is a great dog in the field..points well and works fine. But points ever field mouse in the dang world. I mean flat out points. I can't tell it is a mouse until he pounces as I walk up to flush... Ideas

BellaDad

Re: Dog Pointing Field Mice

Post by BellaDad » Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:59 am

My girl does the same thing, 18 month old gsp. She used to be really bad, but has slowly figured it out that I don't shoot them and just keep walking once I figure out there's not a bird there. I make her hold her points a little longer, 1-2 min (which she won't do on field mice, only about 30 sec-1 min). She's slowly started to decrease the number of times she finds and points field mice, basically stick with it and they'll grow out of it.

3Britts

Post by 3Britts » Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:50 am

Start carrying a bb gun. :wink:

Make sure you reward the times when he points birds and ignor those times when he points mice.
She will learn what is expected soon enough.
It sounds like you still have a puppy on your hands, he will grow out of it.

RayGubernat
GDF Junkie

Post by RayGubernat » Wed Mar 24, 2010 6:03 pm

Dogs will mess with field mice when they are young and they will point and mess with field mice when they are teenagers, if there ain't notyhin' else around.

Your dog is a big puppy. Ignore the field mice points as best you can.... Give the dog something with feathers on it to point and it will begin to ignore the field mice also.

Really - don't sweat it. it is very normal and actually a good sign.

I had a pointer that was as businesslike as you could imagine. She looked like a million bucks on point and she knew it. She loved to point. She was a machine. If there were twenty birds planted in a field..she found somewhere between 18 and 22.