Help, Berserk Puppy and othe problems

Qwernt

Help, Berserk Puppy and othe problems

Post by Qwernt » Sun May 30, 2010 11:59 pm

While I grew up with hunting and cattle dogs, this is my first time owning a puppy. I was expecting a happy bouncing ball of fur that liked to follow you around and might give you a good natured nip or two. What I have is an eight week old, beautiful french brittany girl that loves to run (ie, doesn't follow much, but I think this is a good thing for a gun dog), uses her nose extremely well, and seems to be VERY smart (already does Sit, Come, Pee/Poo, and Kennel on command - well Come can be an issue if she is doing something especially interesting, but she will usually come within 20 seconds or so; at least give me a fly-by if she is running... and pee/poo doesn't happen right when I say it or where I want it, but usually fairly soon).
Here's the problem though: she works herself up into a frenzy - a frenzy any Viking Berserker would be envious of. And when she is in this frenzy she is in attack mode. If she is already excited (running, frightened, etc) then it is really easy for her to go into this attack mode. Simple things such as moving shoes or pants (someone walking), or my daughter spinning half a circle will set her off and she will attack - at least that it what it looks like to me. It could that she thinks she is playing tug of war, but when I hear grows I wonder what is going through her mind. Sometimes we can get her out of it by waving cheese in front of her face, and when she notices give the sit command - which she will often follow. If not, then I have to physically pick her up - at which point she will try to get my hands instead.
When she is not in this mode, I can do just about anything I want with her (though she isn't big on letting me see her teeth).