Pointing question

Buzz

Pointing question

Post by Buzz » Thu Jan 12, 2006 7:18 pm

I need some opinions on pointing. I have a 9 month old dog that is doing, in my eyes, pretty could. Mind you, I’m new to hunting and this is my first bird dog. He loves birds, hunts hard, retrieves and swims. but he does not point. He busts in and chases. I’ve heard some advice such as check cords..whoaing the dog ect. Here’s my instinct, I don’t want to “command” him or teach him to point. I don’t mind commanding or teaching him to hold a point longer then he wishes, but I have this gut feeling his learning to point naturally would serve us both better. What do you folks think? (For those of you thinking launcher, it’s not in the budget at the moment.)

HUTCH

Post by HUTCH » Thu Jan 12, 2006 8:43 pm

what kind of dog do you have? do you shoot the birds he busts? if you have been he thinks this is what you want sense it gets him his reward in the bird. he needs to know he cant get the bird unless he points. I would research the Bill West/Bill Gibbons training method. it is a system that doesnt use a verbal whoa. there is a chat every wednesday on www.higginsgundogs.com at 6 oclock pacific time I beleive. good luck.

mountaindogs
GDF Junkie

Post by mountaindogs » Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:39 pm

Well I would keep in mind that chasing stuff is fun for a dog too. Hutch is right... if you shoot and your dog gets the bird then "flush, chase, bang, go get the bird" is the game and why point. If you want "point, wait, flush, bang, (opt wait), go get the bird" to be the game you should make it boring if he doesn't play by the rules. Even if you didn't shoot though I'd bet the chasing would still be fun. I have one that has caught so many he "knows" he can just go in and get it and why Point?

snips
GDF Junkie

Post by snips » Fri Jan 13, 2006 7:15 am