How essential is F.F. ?

Trekmoor
GDF Junkie

How essential is F.F. ?

Post by Trekmoor » Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:06 pm

Since I am from the other side of the pond I am often struck by the number of references to F.F. 'ing gundogs on this forum. Over here it is a very rare thing to ever hear anyone mention it.

I can understand that it would be useful if a dog did not like retrieving or was an unreliable retriever or that maybe the dog - if a retriever, would have some very testing retrieves to do in trials and must be able to take the pressure. Why is F.F. advised to just about everyone though ? I've been told U.S. dogs are full of "desire." So why F.F. them ?

I've been training gundogs for well over 40 years. My own dogs and other peoples dogs and I have never had to train them F.F. Even with some of the dogs that were a bit reluctant to begin with a gradual build up of desire took place and they became reliable retrievers.
I am puzzled at the insistence by so many trainers that gundogs should be F.F.'d. I am not trying to "knock" anyone , I'm just trying to understand a different dog training culture.

Bill T.
The older I get, the better I was !

quailrunner

Re: How essential is F.F. ?

Post by quailrunner » Sat Aug 14, 2010 4:32 pm

Retrieving has not been a requirement to sell dogs, Field trial titles are, so since breeders have been breeding to get more titles in their lines and retrieving is not a requirement in AKC field trials, 30-40 years of breeding has wiped out the natural instincts to retrieve.

ezzy333
GDF Junkie

Post by ezzy333 » Sat Aug 14, 2010 6:59 pm

I guess I am on the wrong side of the pond because I still have problems FF a dog that retrieves naturally. To date I have never had one that needed it but I am sure there are some that do.

Ezzy
http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/4genview.php?id=144
http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/4genview.php?id=207

It's not how many breaths you have taken but how many times it has been taken away!