gun shy??

cheetome

gun shy??

Post by cheetome » Fri Sep 24, 2010 3:05 am

Ok I'm no pro by any means but I have succesfuly trained around ten personal dogs and conditioned them all to the gun and have never had any of them turn out gun shy. However the current pup I'm working with seems to be headed that way. I was out doing the wing clipped bird and having an assistant fire the blank when I raised my hand. Things progressed as I expected the dog showed no care to the noise and we moved along all the way to the 12 gauge she was doing great until one chase and all of a sudden she stopped and acted a little freaked out. I have not shot around her since. have taken her out to just have fun in the field and to chase wing clipped birds and build up her desire. I was out the other day and she was chasing a bird I launched and something fell in the back of the truck and she just stopped the chase and looked around. She doesn't bolt for me or the truck and still loves birds. My question is what do I do from here I don't want to ruin this dog. I have never experienced this problem before and don't know what to do from here. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The timing of the shot that freaked her a bit was not poorly timed or right over her, happened at between 50 and 75 yrds.

snips
GDF Junkie

Re: gun shy??

Post by snips » Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:47 am

So how old is this pup?
brenda

adogslife

Post by adogslife » Fri Sep 24, 2010 7:33 am

Cap gun to 12 gauge in the same session? You moved to fast.

QuailHollow

Post by QuailHollow » Fri Sep 24, 2010 7:44 am

We have poultry and game birds in our back yard. They way I started my dogs on 'gun fire' is by actually exposing them the 'construction' sounds when we work on the coop(s).