Male or Female Pup?

Nhuskr

Male or Female Pup?

Post by Nhuskr » Sun Sep 26, 2010 9:11 pm

Hi Everyone! :)

I'm new to the GDF, but have been reading like crazy the last couple of days, and learning a ton.

A little background before I get to my question: Dogs have been in my life ever since I was a baby. I/we've had all types from a toy poodle born 6 days before I was, to golden retrievers, Cocker Spaniels, Australian shepherd x's. Currently my family has 3 dogs: an 8 yo lab mix male (non hunter, rescue dog), a 6 yo French brittany female (dh's bird dog), and a 3 yo beagle male (my dd's; also a non-hunter).

We are ready to add to our pack and are going to go with another Frenchy. My dh trained his brittany and I plan on training this one. It will be the first time for me to train a hunting dog; I've done basic household obedience with the others.

I'm leaning towards a male, since all the male dogs I've ever had seemed to bond better with me than the females. But all the reading I've been doing says that females are easier to train. My question is directed mainly towards Brenda and Sharon, but I welcome all replies. What do you ladies find easier to train/bond with, a male or a female? I realize that each dog is an individual and you just never know until you get the dog, just appreciate thoughts.

Cheryl

ArcticRetrievers

Re: Male or Female Pup?

Post by ArcticRetrievers » Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:31 pm

I know that I am not either of the people you mentioned, but I will put in my 2 cents.

IMO Male dogs are harder working , more solid gun dogs when they are finished, they are Faster, and they Listen Better. They have learned to deal with their Handicap (testosterone) That being Said I prefer Females, they are IMO more competitive, and have boundless energy, they are easier to train , but you do need to keep up their training, and be especially diligent through their seasons, otherwise they learn what they can get away with, they test you a bit more.