Kennel Size

ekoog82

Kennel Size

Post by ekoog82 » Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:25 pm

Hello, I am new to gun dogs and have recently purchased a wonderful 8 week old male GSP. I am in the process of trying to kennel train him and have a wire kennel for him that I am afraid is to large. I am looking to get a vari type kennel but do now know what size I should get. I did see a few today while looking the first was 36 (l) x 27 (h) and the other was like 31x25 which would be best as I do not want one to small or to big.

buckshot0074

Re: Kennel Size

Post by buckshot0074 » Sat Oct 23, 2010 1:36 pm

I am not a professional by any stretch, but I bought my English Setter the biggest one they had (xtra-large) when he was 4 months old. He is now almost 9 months and it allows him to stretch out (he is only in it during the overnight) and I put a dog bed in there for him.

here is a link to the one I have

http://www.gundogsonline.com/dog-crates ... nnels.html

Brittguy

Post by Brittguy » Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:52 pm

I would suggest the 31X25 remember they do not live in it , it is just to confine them for a short period of time. The smaller will be more convenient if you wish to take it to visit or to a picnic. Smaller fits in the car much better. It is also better to housebreak when they cannot go to the back and make a mess then get away from it. Fits better in the corner of the room in your house.

Post by 1114 » Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:55 pm

I went with this one, it comes with a divider that you can move as the dog grows. At 7 months, she's got plenty of room without the divider and it should be a perfect fit when full grown. It's great as long as you don't need to move it around...

http://www.amazon.com/Midwest-Life-Stag ... 999&sr=8-1

ekoog82

Post by ekoog82 » Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:40 pm