Pigeons

PheasantHunter

Pigeons

Post by PheasantHunter » Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:17 pm

Hey Guys,

I don't know a lot about pigeons because I have never used them before but plan to use them in my training. I know when I look up a picture of a homing pigeon, it looks much different than the pigeons that I have in my barn for example. Do I need to use homers? Or will any type of pigeon have the instinct to return to my loft? Are any pigeons better than others?

Thanks, Mike

sandhill

Post by sandhill » Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:39 pm

Hey Mike
If you want the pigeons to come home then you need to obtain some young homers that have never been flown before, If you are just gonna use them for training and not have them come back then by all means go catch ya some barn pigeons and they will work just fine. As far as raising barn pigeons and having them come home, well maybe they will and maybe they wont. I would not bet any money on it. Hope this helps

Steve

ezzy333
GDF Junkie

Post by ezzy333 » Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:48 pm

Most young pigeons will come home if conditioned, homers just do it better from further away. Main thing is get young ones that think your loft is home.

Ezzy
http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/4genview.php?id=144
http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/4genview.php?id=207

It's not how many breaths you have taken but how many times it has been taken away!

Has anyone noticed common sense isn't very common anymore.

ohiogsp

Post by ohiogsp » Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:54 pm