newly adopted 3yo GSP "give" issues

jwtrking

newly adopted 3yo GSP "give" issues

Post by jwtrking » Mon Apr 11, 2011 6:29 pm

I adopted a handsome male GSP from a third party about 3 months ago. From what we were told he has been a house dog all of his life. I am three weeks into basic obedience and he is top of his class. He will retrieve bumpers like theres no tomorrow. as many times as i can throw it he will retrieve it and drop it right at my feet. Herein lies the issue. He covets the bumper. No growling. No whining. but as soon as I pick it up he's FIXED on it. The dog absouloutely refuses to put the thing in my hand. I tried the "take and give" but he won't take it out of my hand either. I am taking the low pressure route with him because he shows signs of being thumped on and came to us with E-collar marks on his neck. any suggestions? this is my first time training for the field.
we are what we do every day... therefore, excellence is not a coincidence but a habit. ...Socrates

kninebirddog
GDF Premier Member!

Re: newly adopted 3yo GSP "give" issues

Post by kninebirddog » Mon Apr 11, 2011 7:10 pm

As for the marks on the neck that could be from a bark collar

For the give ..If the dog doesn't want to release grab him by the flap of the flank area and lift up mist the times the dog will drop what they have in their mouth . I have one guy here I have to grab both side of the flank and abruptly lift up before he will open his mouth as he really doesn't want to give.
and FYI if he is not giving up this is not a shy or timid action and as long as you are not yelling at the dog you are being very fair to the dog
"I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all."
"When I hear somebody talk about a horse or cow being stupid, I figure its a sure sign that the animal has outfoxed them." Tom Dorrance