Timid Pup

BF Daves III

Timid Pup

Post by BF Daves III » Wed Jul 13, 2011 3:24 am

Hey guys this is my first time posting on here and I'm looking for some advice. I have a 7month old GSP female who is one of the smartest dogs I have ever been around. She has done nothing but impress me so far while we trained on here, whoa, sit, and other obedience commands. She does not waiver when given a command and I have othr peple tell me how impresses they are with the way she acts and her demeanor. I am fairly new at training and have one hang up with this pup(I know she is still young).

I spent the first 3 weeks I had her doing nothing but bonding, she never left my side except at night when she was kenneled. Now when we work the fieldI have trouble getting her away from me and motvating her to get out in front. She will work the field back and forth between me and my wife if we seperate but will not get in front. Any tips on how to get her a bit more confidnce and maybe wean her off of me just a bit?

Thanks in advance,

BF Daves III

kninebirddog
GDF Premier Member!

Re: Timid Pup

Post by kninebirddog » Wed Jul 13, 2011 5:17 am

Kinda sounds like you spent to much time on obedience and not enough on her independence in the field...I would try and find a training group near you and get her out with other dogs and on some birds and don't forget a roll of duct tape as it will be very important you not say a word...just let her explore with no coaxing or coddling or direction verbally from you :wink:
"I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all."
"When I hear somebody talk about a horse or cow being stupid, I figure its a sure sign that the animal has outfoxed them." Tom Dorrance
If you feel like you are banging your head against the wall, try using the door.

GUNDOGS
GDF Junkie

Post by GUNDOGS » Wed Jul 13, 2011 5:26 am