New Pup

Juddro

New Pup

Post by Juddro » Tue Oct 11, 2011 4:25 am

Hello to all,

I am new to this site and like what i have read. I am 32 years old and just got my first GSP. His name is Brueno. My grandfather was big into to GSP's and do I ever wish I would have racked his brain. My dog seems to be a quick learner. He sits, lays down, retreives, and comes very well. I have put him on a wing and he points immediately but tries to inch up too close. He is only 3 1/2 months old. Should I ease off the wing a little and try to teach him whoa or am I headed in the right direction. I am new to training and can use all the help I can get. Thanks to all. Juddro

Private message

Redfishkilla

Re: New Pup

Post by Redfishkilla » Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:28 am

Get him excited about birds and let him be a puppy for another coupla months before you start formal yard work. Work on recall without much pressure. In the mean time, you need to read every training book you can get your hands on. Good luck.

Greek

Post by Greek » Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:47 am

Welome!! I too am getting a GSP pup this week so I will be in the same boat. I have trained a Chessie to JH. So getting a pointer will be a new experience for me. I suggest you find a local hunt club that trains once a month or so. It s great to have a good club to rlean on. A few great tips I got when I 1st strated training dogs from some Pro's was less is more and always end on a good note. End your training session while the pup is still high in drive. Congrats and good luck with your pup. I too really enjoy this site.

DonF
GDF Junkie

Post by DonF » Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:59 am