Stay on a HUP

reevesg

Stay on a HUP

Post by reevesg » Mon Jul 19, 2004 3:10 pm

Hey,

I am fairly new to dog training and so could use some pointers on the basics. I have had my wonderful springer for about 2 months now and she is really solid on come ( I just use her name and 3 whistle peeps ) and Hup and pretty good on down and off and give it.

I am having trouble getting her to stay in place when I hup her and start to move away. She will sit still for minutes at a time as long as I dont move. I can walk around her and although she strains her neck to watch me she will generally stay seated but when I start to slowly move back she gets up. Obviously I started by moving back a step and then going back to her and praising her but I haven't really been able to get past a couple of steps.

I have been able to move father away with her in the down position and telling her to stay.

I have generally been very gentle with her (she is real submissive) and the one time that I yelled at her for getting up she just laid down. I want her to stay sitting and I don't want to have to say stay so I have just persisted the way I described above but now we are not making any progress.

Her confidence is building and now that I am absolutely sure that she knows to sit when I say Hup so I can correct her by yelling at her when she doesnt and then the next time she listens and obeys like a champ.

I don't think that she knows that she is supposed to *stay* yet so I don't think they yelling will work. Its not that she doesn't want to stay, its that she doesn't know she is supposed to.

Quite a long post for a simple question ;-) but he it is... What can I do to make her understand that she is supposed to stay?

Thanks, great forum.

Gareth

snips
GDF Junkie

Post by snips » Mon Jul 19, 2004 10:49 pm