Whoa Command

Pappy

Whoa Command

Post by Pappy » Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:30 am

I have trained several dogs. I am no expert but I have had very good success. I tied something different one year while training a new dog. But before I get into that I well start off first by letting you know how I usually train my new dogs. I am a firm believer in using Richard Wolters Gun Dog book. I have had very good success using his training methods. I remember reading his book several times how important the whoa command is. When I followed his book whiling training two of my dog using the whoa command it seem to work out OK. Ya my dogs will stop but not always completely. It seem that some of my dogs would stop better than the other dogs. With this new GSP I purchased I thought since the whoa command is so important I started training my dog on the whoa command first. I was very impress with this dog. After training him and taking him hunting. I could yell whoa and he would stop at a full stride in his tracks. I was very pleased how this dog took to the whoa command. I have since train another dog but I followed the Gun Dog book. I just was not very pleased how this dog came out on using the whoa command, ya he stops but not like my GSP did. My questions is how many trainers start out using the whoa command first before using other command like sit stay etc. This seem to work for me the time I tried it. What are some of your training methods on the Whoa Command ?

ezzy333
GDF Junkie

Re: Whoa Command

Post by ezzy333 » Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:38 am

I normally don't teach WHOA till they are a year old or more. I try not to use it around birds as I want the dog to point and not whoa. Whoa is nothing more than a stay command and is a control type command and not a hunting command.

JMO

Ezzy
http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/4genview.php?id=144
http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/4genview.php?id=207

It's not how many breaths you have taken but how many times it has been taken away!