AKC JH test- When to arrive?

Vaoutdoors42

AKC JH test- When to arrive?

Post by Vaoutdoors42 » Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:13 am

I am new to the hunt test arena as to dog training in general but thats another topic. I was wondering what thoughts are on when to arrive to a test? I am running in the 5th group and the JH test says will start at 8:30am. How long on average does it take for each group to run? I know they must hunt for 15 minutes but to also get dogs out of fields/back plant birds etc..?? I am just trying to get an idea...I would like to get there somewhat early to watch some of the senior/master tests, if possible but just didnt want my dog out there for hours waiting.... Or do you think its get to air him out, (if area to do this) and let him walk around the area. I was hoping to get him around a horse before my group runs as he hasnt had much exposure.

I am so new to this thing....do people brings chairs etc and make it a all day event?

Just to provide more info, this is the AKC event in Upper Marlboro, Maryland (hosted by the Southern Maryland English Setter Club).

I am running my 7 1/2 month old GSP and this will be my first experience with a hunt test every.

original mngsp

Re: AKC JH test- When to arrive?

Post by original mngsp » Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:54 am

Be there in time to run your dog at 8:30. You never know if people in braces before you scratch or dont show up and you could be running before you expect.

Being there and watching, meeting others, learning is always a good thing to do. You will usually see a fair amount of people there with chairs enjoying the day, especially if the weather is pleasant. Besides the dogs, meeting new people and shooting the "bleep" all day is usually a big part of any event.

Dont worry about your dog having to wait. Being patient in a crate, leash or a tie out stake is something all of our dogs must get used to in their lives. You can always leash him up and walk him around if needed.