bad timing?

LtsHnt

bad timing?

Post by LtsHnt » Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:51 pm

my Viz pup will be six months on the first of nov. i am from south dakota, so winters get tough.....i am thinking about paying for a trainer since im new at all this, plus i dont have the equip to start her off right...i guess my ? is this

is six mo a good age to send to a trainer, i would like to wait until 7-8 mo but im afraid the weather will suck in december/january. thoughts? ideas? should i try and start her off myself, then use the trainer in the spring, or should i send her off at 6mo? maybey get a couple weeks in nov. work with her through the winter myself and then another couple weeks in the spring? just not sure what would be the best thing to do.

jwnissen

Re: bad timing?

Post by jwnissen » Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:23 pm

I went to my trainer and asked his opinion. He took my 9 month old GSP for a week to evaluate her. I would call around and find a trainer who you like and people recommend. Let them tell you if the pup is ready. God luck

birddogger
GDF Junkie

Post by birddogger » Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:50 pm

Socialize her, work on some basic obedience commands and take her to the trainer next spring. She will be too young this fall for serious training.

Charlie
If you think you can or if you think you can't, you are right either way

LtsHnt

Post by LtsHnt » Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:16 am

11mo would be ok you think then? not too late?

birddogger
GDF Junkie

Post by birddogger » Fri Jul 27, 2012 1:03 am

LtsHnt wrote:11mo would be ok you think then? not too late?
Definately not too late, even older would be fine, especially for a Vizla, but 6mos. is way too young. Take your time, just enjoy and let your puppy have fun for the first year. Like I said, except for teaching some obedience and manners. JMO.

Charlie
If you think you can or if you think you can't, you are right either way

gonehuntin'
GDF Junkie

Post by gonehuntin' » Fri Jul 27, 2012 6:37 am