Opinion on sportdog collars.

birdyhunter

Post by birdyhunter » Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:06 am

I'm looking at getting my first training collar for my pup and have been looking at the sportdog wetland hunter 400. Any reviews, opinions on the brand or suggestions for other brands would be appreciated. Excuse my ignorance but I am very new to all of this.

gotpointers

Re: Opinion on sportdog collars.

Post by gotpointers » Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:04 am

Buy a. Different brand. DT, tritronics, dogtra, are a few good ones.

birdyhunter

Post by birdyhunter » Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:52 am

Any particular reason why? Also could you recommend some models of those brands?

Hoosierdaddy

Post by Hoosierdaddy » Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:02 am

One of my good friends decided to go the cheap route(Sportdog).He is not happy,he spends more time on the phone and shipping transmitters than he does using his collar.You usually get what you pay for.
"a man has got to know his limitations" Clint Eastwood

Chicago Blackhawks Six Time Stanley Cup Champions

1934 1938 1961 2010 2013 2015

Wildweeds

Post by Wildweeds » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:41 am

Relatively certain that Sportdog is the new restructured version of Innotek.Which means unless they worked a miricle it's still junk.I had a innoteck and as mentioned by hoosier I spent tons of time with the warranty department on collar failure and transmitter woes.The system which was 600 bucks made it 3 years . The warranty department wasn't bad but it sure seemed like a guy was always loaded up and ready to go waiting for the ups truck.I bought a tri tronics after that fiasco and it's been working flawlessly for 10 years.

rinker

Post by rinker » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:43 am