Help with my GSP

DustinK

Help with my GSP

Post by DustinK » Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:28 am

This is my first post besides introducing myself and I will try not to make it too long but I need some help with my 18 month old GSP.

First and foremost, why I got the GSP- I had a friend that I did a ton of duck hunting with that had a couple labs that were great that he had trained himself. We did preserve hunts a few times a year for pheasant and quail and wanted to do more quail hunting on wild birds. We decided that since he already had the labs for duck hunting, that I would buy a GSP for quail and pheasant hunting and we would be all set and that he would also help me teach the GSP to retrieve ducks.

I did a ton of research on breeders, got references, called 28 different people that had bought dogs from the breeder I chose. I then went to the breeder and played witht he different pups on 3 occasions before I finally picked the one I wanted. I told the breeder I was a complete beginner and inexperienced gundog owner and that I would like to pay him to train my new dog as he came very highly recommended.

The breeder told me that when he was finished that he would be trained to come, heel, kennel, whoa, honor other dogs points, retreive to hand, and be gun conditioned.

Here is my issue- My friend with the labs got transfered out of state the same week I picked up the new dog so I now have a GSP but no duck dog. I have taken the dog out quail hunting 3 times and we got on birds twice. He has a ton of drive, points and hold but breaks when the bird does( trainer said he was not trained to be steady) and retrieves well.

However, the basic obedience lacks a ton. A whoa's sometimes, he sets sometimes, he kennels sometimes, he never heels. He also runs around crazy when I let him out and its difficult to keep him close to me. He is not an inside dog and I keep him in my fenced back yard which is pretty good sized.