What level do you use on you're Tritronics classic 70?

dreamrr

What level do you use on you're Tritronics classic 70?

Post by dreamrr » Sun Dec 16, 2012 4:30 pm

I am able to use level 1 or 2 when training at home, but I am finding when I am in the field hunting, I need to use level 4 to get my GSP's attention. It's like he is super focused and low levels do not phase him when he is chasing a bird or other trash behaviors.

Is 4 too high? What is your opinion? I am new to the e-collar.

cjhills
GDF Junkie

Re: What level do you use on you're Tritronics classic 70?

Post by cjhills » Sun Dec 16, 2012 4:38 pm

You probably should do more collar conditioning so he understands it better. I do use higher for trash breaking. Once you start going higher you may have to keep on. Cj

dreamrr

Post by dreamrr » Sun Dec 16, 2012 4:59 pm

He is collar conditioned. I've had him at a pro trainers for over two months.

RayGubernat
GDF Junkie

Post by RayGubernat » Sun Dec 16, 2012 6:41 pm

In training and in the field I rarely need to go beyond 1 or 2.

I have a Flyway Special which has both nick and continuous(but I believe the levels are the same as yours) and honestly I rarely need the continuous. a nick or 2 generally gets the dog's attention.

A large part of the reason why only low levels are necessary is the simple fact that the dogs know, without a doubt, that if they ignore the first gentle reminder... there in't no second gentle reminder. The HAMMER comes down and comes down hard. I jump immediately from a relatively gentle 1 or 2 nick to a 5 or 6 continuous for a full eight seconds.

Don't need to do that too many times before the dog gets the picture.