How far can they smell

aim

How far can they smell

Post by aim » Sun Jan 13, 2013 9:38 am

I've been hunting with dogs for quite a few years now and one thing that has always got me thinking is how far the dog can smell?
Lets say I'm working a field with a crosswind. I walk from one end to the other and then move about 50-100 or so yards into the wind and go back to the other end. (or lets just say a zig zag into the wind)
How tight do you guys work a field? Do you think a dog can smell a bird or bunny from 50-100 yards out?

DonF
GDF Junkie

Re: How far can they smell

Post by DonF » Sun Jan 13, 2013 11:04 am

Maybe and maybe not. If you watch a dog work a bird from to far out, unless you stop the dog it will usually continue on in. I don't think it's because it can't smell it necessarily but rather that it hasn't got a good locate on it. Years ago when a guy I respect very much was a young guy, he'd taught a dog to point from way the h*ll out. Really impressive except he had trouble locating the pointed bird. Sometime there was no bird to be had. Non productive? Certainly. False point? Not necessarily so but rather the dog was unable to better locate the bird. I suspect that the farther away from the dog the bird is, the wider the scent cone and harder to accurately point. I have watched dogs by pass a bird they were down wind of from farther out than I'd like the dog. At the same time I've seen the same dogs hit the scent out way to far and work it in. As we cannot smell things the way a dog does it become's hard if not impossible to understand what the dog is really smelling or why. What I am very sure of is that the dog must be down wind of the bird to smell it. At 100yds? I think that is a myth.
I pity the man that has never been loved by a dog!

aim

Post by aim » Sun Jan 13, 2013 2:46 pm

I also doubt that a dog can smell one at 100. Maybe if it were a really stinky one. :lol: