Lab Troubles

hembree1986

Lab Troubles

Post by hembree1986 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:51 pm

I have a five month old lab pup. I am fairly new to the training process so i have some questions!! Skeet (my pup) i feel like is doing really well considering my lack of knowledge for training. Right now he is doing multiple retrieves and is pretty solid on blind retrieves, meaning i can send him in general direction and sometimes get his attention and move him closer to the bumper but he seems to always sniff it out even if i cant get his attention. The only real trouble i have is he wants to drop the dummy at my feet cant get him to hold it, if he drops it say 3 feet from me I can tell him no and he will bring it right to me. but he will not heal and hold it in his mouth until i take it from him.Is there a fix? Am I being too picky?

DogNewbie

Re: Lab Troubles

Post by DogNewbie » Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:09 pm

I think the lab guys will tell you to Force Fetch once the baby teeth are gone.

crackerd

Post by crackerd » Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:19 pm

No, the "Lab guys" will tell him or her s/he's got the training cart way ahead of the pony or puppy. And it's careening away with far more serious consequences than a pup dropping a dummy instead of delivering to hand.

Since he's "new to the training process," he also needs to know that the training process for retrievers is sequential and one of the last steps in that sequence is a dog handling (running blind retrieves with guidance while under control). Even for the most intensively trained dogs on the planet - FT retrievers - that's usually not happening until they're 9-12 months old.

MG

birddog1968
GDF Junkie

Post by birddog1968 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 4:28 pm

crackerd wrote:No, the "Lab guys" will tell him or her s/he's got the training cart way ahead of the pony or puppy. And it's careening away with far more serious consequences than a pup dropping a dummy instead of delivering to hand.