wing training

cole.nelson782

wing training

Post by cole.nelson782 » Tue May 21, 2013 9:49 pm

Been training my 3yr old lab for about 4 months now and started him on feathers a few weeks ago. He doesn't want to bring the wing back to me he would rather grab it come half the distance lay down and pull the feathers off. Anything I can do to stop him from doing this? Should I put the cc on him and pull him in once he grabs the wing?

hafe4825

Re: wing training

Post by hafe4825 » Tue May 21, 2013 10:15 pm

First of all, I think its best for me to state up front that I am by no means an expert for giving advice. But YES, I'd say putting a check cord on him and softly pulling towards you while giving gentle praise would be the first thing I'd try. Be consistent and persistent in both word and action. I think where most people fail is in consistency and patience.

campgsp

Post by campgsp » Tue May 21, 2013 10:24 pm

Agree
Use the cc to bring him into you. Don't take it from his mouth right away, instead Praise him for bringing it back to you while hestill has it.

Neil
GDF Junkie

Post by Neil » Tue May 21, 2013 10:30 pm

Work on "here" until he has it 100%. Then go back to the wing, or better the whole bird.

He must learn to promptly come to you every time called.

cole.nelson782

Post by cole.nelson782 » Tue May 21, 2013 11:35 pm

OK I will put those plans into action in the morning. Thanks

slistoe
GDF Junkie

Post by slistoe » Wed May 22, 2013 12:44 am

Work on the recall to be sure he responds well to it.
Anticipate him stopping and cue him with the recall before he thinks about it (this does not mean to overdo it with continuous recall).
Tie/tape the wings to your training dummy.

campgsp

Post by campgsp » Wed May 22, 2013 1:15 am

I agree with slistoe and Neil too. If your dog isn't recalling reliably your not getting anywhere.