Tips for calming a GSP for NA test

dsmtsi

Tips for calming a GSP for NA test

Post by dsmtsi » Wed Sep 18, 2013 7:09 am

I've been working with my pup for a few months now getting ready for our NA test. She is a 5 month old GSP and in the past few times out she has started to do something new.

We did tracking training 2 months ago and haven't done much since, just working on pointing and recall. Last weekend I took her to a mock test and we did a track with a rooster. She smelled the feather pile and seemed ready to go. I released her, "dead bird", and she took off to my left. She ran around the people watching the track. After a bit she setteled down and found the sent and had a perfect track.

She also started running huge in the field like 150 yards huge. Once we have a bird encounter she calms down and hunts closer. She has a great recall and I can call her back in but I'm not sure I want to keep doing that untill we find a bird. Any tips for calming her a bit or just let her fly?

mountaindogs
GDF Junkie

Re: Tips for calming a GSP for NA test

Post by mountaindogs » Wed Sep 18, 2013 10:26 am

If the recall is good even when birds are in the field... let her fly. Teach a turn signal but don't overuse it.

Ruffshooter
GDF Junkie

Post by Ruffshooter » Wed Sep 18, 2013 10:31 am

At the test you will bring her down the track 15 ft or so. If she is not paying attention or seem like she is pulling to go find it, ask the judge to start again.
Let her go once you see she understands and heads off down the trail.

As far as the field goes, let her fly. She only needs to establish point not hold it till you get there. just for a few seconds.

Also don't talk to her too much. Let her work.

Also not sure how you are releasing your pup from the track but if using a slip under the collar, make sure the loose end goes over the top near the dogs head and not the other way so when she pulls forward she does not get slapped in the head by the loose end.