E-collar discussion - all opinions welcome!

EvanG

E-collar discussion - all opinions welcome!

Post by EvanG » Tue Oct 15, 2013 12:37 pm

Do you think you know everything about e-collars? Love 'em? Hate 'em? Want to know more...or perhaps to know better ways to use them?

Far too much has been wrongly assumed, or just misunderstood about these tools for too long. As someone pointed out earlier, discussions about the e-collar often just turn into sparring matches, instead of a useful exchange of real information. So, here goes!

I began training retrievers in 1976. The first pro I studied under was the late Hall of Fame trainer D.L. Walters (not EVER to be confused with Richard Wolters of "Water Dog" fame). D.L. was a staunch opponent of e-collars for a very long time. He came around very slowly, and never adopted any of Rex Carr's ideas. To him the e-collar became a substitute tool to replace stock prods and bird shot, etc. as corporal correction instruments.

As field trial competition became more and more dominated by dogs trained via Carr methodology I became more interested in learning about it. I went to work for John Hahn, a long time Carr student. As his assistant I learned formal Basics using the old Tri Tronics A1-70 unit: 1 button/all it had, every time! Very different from today's units.

Two years later I traveled to Rex Carr's kennel in Escalon, CA to learn from Rex himself. I spent the whole summer with him, and only wished I could have stayed far longer. One thing that made that summer even better was that TT had just begun to market the first ever variable-at-the-transmitter e-collar; the 100-A. It not only had a 2-button, low-med-hi set up on the transmitter, but also had plugs for the receiver; levels 1 - 5. WOW! That was a great jump. If anyone is interested I'll be happy to share how that came to pass.