Wild birds vs pen raised

muleskinner

Wild birds vs pen raised

Post by muleskinner » Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:24 am

I never hunted pen raised birds until a few months ago. The birds i've been using stay exactly where they are planted. Does this hinder a dogs ability to trail birds? Seems like it might, but again, this is my first time using pen raised birds. I don't have enough wild birds here to do any good, so i'm pretty much limited to pen raised for training purposes.

whoadog

Re: Wild birds vs pen raised

Post by whoadog » Thu Feb 20, 2014 1:43 am

The short answer, in my opinion, is "no". But, you may have started a whole new discussion about ground trailing birds versus hunting only air-borne scent. Why do you want your dog to ground trail?

shags
GDF Junkie

Post by shags » Thu Feb 20, 2014 6:24 am

It depends on the cover. If you throw them down under a bush or clump of grass, they're going to stay there because they don't want to expose themselves to predators - it's instinct. If you put them in light woods, or a narrow strip along a ditch then they are much more likely to move. In the right cover, they can move like crazy.

When quail run, I want my pointy dog to relocate with his nose in the air, not against the dirt like a hound. IME the dog can locate them at a distance; if he's snuffling along the ground, he's more likely to bump them or keep them running.

Bounty_Hunter

Post by Bounty_Hunter » Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:54 am

What's the difference between wild birds and stocked birds anyway? Here in PA the state puts out birds before season and during the season and supposedly those stocked birds have very little human contact and are fed somewhat wild diets. And what about the stocked birds that don't get shot and manage to survive to next hunting season, can I consider them wild birds then?

Grousehunter123

Post by Grousehunter123 » Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:13 am

The OP is most likely talking about pen raised birds having just been planted.