A Little Help Here

gunflint

A Little Help Here

Post by gunflint » Wed Sep 10, 2014 4:54 am

I am new to training gun dogs. I've worked with S&R dogs and helped start an S&R dog group in our county several years ago. Don't let my weak credentials fool anyone as I wasn't all that good at it. I recently purchased an English Setter pup. I have about 1400 questions and I've been reading old posts and googling anything I can think of to help prevent me from ruining a good dog with great promise. He's 15 weeks old and I've been concentrating on basic obedience and just letting him be a pup. I'm searching out local clubs and trainers for advice however upland game season starts up here this weekend and believe it or not most of the gun dog folks here are kind of busy. I'm fairly certain that I have time to do things the right way once I find a method that meets my needs however I have a few immediate concerns that I could use some help with. I've never trained a pointer and I'm worried that I may "train" the pointer out of him. Should I be pulling him off of his point when he's pointing deer beds, grass hoppers, etc? Should I be using bottled scent for tracking? Are there any absolute "DONT'S" at this age? Is there a beginners tutorial here that I'm not finding? Are there youtube videos that are better than others? At this point I'm not real interested in competitions or trials what I want is a hunting partner. Thanks guys. This is a great site by the way.

DonF
GDF Junkie

Re: A Little Help Here

Post by DonF » Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:48 am

let him point deer beds and anything else he wants at this point. Down the road he'll run into a bird you planted and he point it. Might not hold it long but that's another matter. What you don't want to do is shoot anything that come's out of the deer bed. "bleep" birds are great, the pup should point them at some point but he'll never catch them. Leave him alone, he's learning.
I pity the man that has never been loved by a dog!

shags