should I Hunt Test?

jfwhit

should I Hunt Test?

Post by jfwhit » Sun Oct 26, 2014 7:26 pm

I have a 1 yr old male Brittany. We are about to start the season. He is steady to wing, shot, and fall. He loves to hunt. I cannot get him to retrieve. Granted he has mainly been focusing on prey drive, holding point, obedience, etc. He's just been allowed to retrieve if he wants. In other words, we've just tried to get him interested in retrieve, chase a downed bird. He will go to the bird, pick it up, drop it, then run on. No force fetch.

Now, do I hunt him this season and see how he does over wild birds, then FF him in the off season?

When Hunt Test time comes in Feb, do I JH him, which he is beyond. Or do I wait till he can retrieve to SH him.

I am new to this. I have never ran a dog in a test before.

Stoneface

Re: should I Hunt Test?

Post by Stoneface » Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:33 pm

I've trialed some, but am just getting into testing. I'm jumping my dog right to SH and maybe MH. JH is kind of a gimme, in my opinion. Seems like all a dog has to do is flash point once in a brace and he's going to pass. If you want to do SH eventually, I'd say hold off to start there. If your dog is as good as he sounds, running JH would just be a formality and just free money for AKC.
www.PoetryShootingClub.com
www.StonefaceKennels.com
----------
"I have found it far more pleasuable pursuing the game with a fine dog and enjoying his performance than the actual shooting." -Robert G. Wehle

Brazosvalleyvizslas

Post by Brazosvalleyvizslas » Sun Oct 26, 2014 10:03 pm

Yeah but the owner has never run any Test so I say go run, see other dogs, meet people that can help and remember that your not only supporting the AKC but also your local club. Heck, talk about tossing away money, I will run a dog at our local clubs that already has 15 MHA legs just so we can have fun and support the club.

I will have to sell a gun to do so but I will still do it.LOL

Sharon
GDF Junkie