Training Plan Suggestions

bmumph

Post by bmumph » Wed Nov 05, 2014 3:19 pm

I have an 8 month old GSP. She has not scent pointed a bird yet, but will sight point everything else (butterflies, bugs, squirrels,etc. ). There is not enough wild bird in my area, so I spent the better part of the first 5 months of having her trying to find a supply of flight conditioned birds or pigeons in my area. So I feel like I'm off to a late start with her. I have finally found a person selling feral pigeons that I can use to train her and I've also purchased a launcher. I am new to this so I wanted to get some suggestions on a training plan. I live in the city, so daily field training is not an option. But I will be able to get her into the field on the weekend. My plan was to have one or two session a weekend where I planted 4 or 5 birds/session, walk her to the bird (check cord or no check cord???) , launch the bird when she hits the scent cone. When/If she starts pointing, I will try to walk in front of her to flush the bird. Any movement and I launch the bird.

Does this sound like a reasonable plan? Is there anything I should change? I am worried about whether or not she will start scent pointing the birds. What is a reasonable expectation on when I should see her starting to get it and pointing? I know every dog is different, but I was just wondering what others experienced with their dogs. I don't want to have unreasonable expectations and get frustrated. I've read a few books and looked at numerous videos, but they all make it look simple and I know that's not going to be the case.

Any help on this is appreciated.

Thanks,

bonasa

Re: Training Plan Suggestions

Post by bonasa » Wed Nov 05, 2014 4:13 pm

Which book are you following?

Tia

Post by Tia » Wed Nov 05, 2014 4:55 pm