Would you recommend

shocker35

Would you recommend

Post by shocker35 » Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:21 am

Good afternoon everyone. I have been contemplating getting an e collar for my Brittany. Now I am a first time trainer and have no experience using one and quite frankly I am very apprehensive and afraid I may mess up more than be productive with it. Would you recommend a first timer using an e-collar?

cbump

Re: Would you recommend

Post by cbump » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:04 pm

As long as you train yourself how to use it.

ezzy333
GDF Junkie

Post by ezzy333 » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:05 pm

They are not hard to use. Only problem is when and how. If you can remember it is nothing more than a long check cord you will have little problem. It is not a training tool as much as a controlling tool.

Ezzy
http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/4genview.php?id=144
http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/4genview.php?id=207

It's not how many breaths you have taken but how many times it has been taken away!

Has anyone noticed common sense isn't very common anymore.

mask

Post by mask » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:15 pm

shocker35 wrote:Good afternoon everyone. I have been contemplating getting an e collar for my Brittany. Now I am a first time trainer and have no experience using one and quite frankly I am very apprehensive and afraid I may mess up more than be productive with it. Would you recommend a first timer using an e-collar?
NO!

Neil
GDF Junkie

Post by Neil » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:35 pm

Learn

gsp1985gj

Would you recommend

Post by gsp1985gj » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:35 pm

Train your dog with a checkcord first and when your dog is solidly doing what you expect, implement the e-collar and as Ezzy pointed out you'll have a mile long checkcord.