Will quail stay in a general area?

MikeE15

Will quail stay in a general area?

Post by MikeE15 » Fri Jan 23, 2015 3:51 pm

We have a canyon area behind us. Would quail stay in the area if I put water out or do they move around a lot. Sorry if this is a dumb question I'm new to birds.

SwitchGrassWPG

Re: Will quail stay in a general area?

Post by SwitchGrassWPG » Fri Jan 23, 2015 5:28 pm

Wild or released? Depending on food availability they can move a lot. Released birds tend to have a very high mortality rate if released as an adult.
Only thing worse than a bad dog is no dog at all...

http://www.switchgrasswpg.com

twistedoak

Post by twistedoak » Sun Jan 25, 2015 11:11 am

they will recall to an extent

if you have a house built they live in , and don't release them that far from it ,
most will find their way back .
its important to always leave a few in the house when you do release them.
they recall more by talking to each other rather then home like a pigeon does.

keep in mind you will still lose birds

oldbeek

Post by oldbeek » Fri Jan 30, 2015 1:06 am

I think you are talking about California Valley quail that would reside in your neighbor hood. I installed a watering station (a buried pan with a adjustable dripper that runs all the time) I also broadcast milo every day during the nesting season. I have had up to 100 quail attracted to my area. They show up every day and roost in the trees above my house. It is a joy to watch them especially the youngsters as they grow up. I use them for dog training after nesting season. This is the best time to start attracting them. The are just starting to pair up.

DonF
GDF Junkie

Post by DonF » Fri Jan 30, 2015 9:51 am