Shed antler training.

spottebaum1

Shed antler training.

Post by spottebaum1 » Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:04 pm

So I am working with my dog to find and retrieve shed antlers. We have just started this and I am new to the sport but she is retrieving them well so far when I throw a single one. Where I have an issue is when I incorprate more than one antler in the yard she gets confused it seems. She will find and bring back one antler but will walk over to the other and not pick it up. It's like she doesn't care about it she just wants to find the other one. Any suggestions on how to remedy this? How can I get her to find multiple "bones" and bring them back. Instead of just the same one all the time?

gundogguy

Re: Shed antler training.

Post by gundogguy » Fri Jan 30, 2015 6:37 am

Has your dog been through FF?
I'm 100% in favor of LGBT - Liberty, Guns, Bacon and Trump.

spottebaum1

Post by spottebaum1 » Fri Jan 30, 2015 4:03 pm

No she hasn't. I've never had to FF any of my dogs

gundogguy

Post by gundogguy » Fri Jan 30, 2015 4:30 pm

spottebaum1 wrote:So I am working with my dog to find and retrieve shed antlers. We have just started this and I am new to the sport but she is retrieving them well so far when I throw a single one. Where I have an issue is when I incorprate more than one antler in the yard she gets confused it seems. She will find and bring back one antler but will walk over to the other and not pick it up. It's like she doesn't care about it she just wants to find the other one. Any suggestions on how to remedy this? How can I get her to find multiple "bones" and bring them back. Instead of just the same one all the time?
It sounds like she is "avoiding" the 2nd shed. Correct. FF eliminates the avoidance! FF training you will eliminate accidental behavior. And assure you that the retrieve will be completed.

Yuma.Az.Hunter

Shed antler training.

Post by Yuma.Az.Hunter » Fri Jan 30, 2015 6:04 pm