High energy lab?

68w

High energy lab?

Post by 68w » Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:31 am

Hello everyone, I am new to the group and now I have a question about training a high energy lab.
I have been training for a few years with my very mild male lab. He has come along nicely given I'm the one training him. Lol. I offered to house a club members 3year old female with a field trial level of energy. Who it turns out is pregnant.
She was started and had done some dubble t but has not been worked in 6 months. I was told she will run through an 18 on a tri tronics. I would like to get her to work with me and she does want to please but she is having a hard time slowing down to make that happen. I would also like to get her to work at a lighter level on the collar. Anyone have any advice?

Dave

kcbullets

Re: High energy lab?

Post by kcbullets » Thu Jun 04, 2015 9:04 am

I am wondering if the dog was ever obedience trained? From the sounds of it, you need to OB train the dog just as if it was a 6 month old dog. Back on leash, or check cord working commands. One command at a time until the dog knows the command and obeys it over 80% of the time. Then collar condition to a "known" command. The e-collar is used to reinforce (when necessary) a command so the dog already has to be taught the command. An 18 on a TT sounds like maybe a Garmin Delta. My opinion on that is get rid of it and get Garmin Pro 550 or Dogtra Edge RT.

I would work on sit, here, and heel. If he isn't steady on a leash, he will not ever be steady off leash. There is no magical method. It takes time, reps, and a lot of patience.