Help finding a trainer

Emaisch1080

Help finding a trainer

Post by Emaisch1080 » Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:49 am

Hey guys. New to the forum and new to dogs. I have a 7 month old Brittany that has had about 6 weeks formal training about 2 hrs away. I was wondering if anyone knew of trainers in the Philadelphia area for some work through the summer. He's gun broke and points well. Needs work on retrieving. He just doesn't like to do it for fun. He will fetch anything for treats so I know he knows the command.

GWPtyler

Re: Help finding a trainer

Post by GWPtyler » Fri Jun 19, 2015 1:19 pm

I'm not good at geography, but I did discover there are four NAVHDA chapter in PA. I'd get in contact with the closest one to you and join in on a training night ... or four: http://www.navhda.us/ChapterInfo.aspx?ChapterAbbrev=SUS

RayGubernat
GDF Junkie

Post by RayGubernat » Sat Jun 20, 2015 11:24 am

My experience is with pointers and field trial trainers for the most part, so I would not be the best person to recommend a trainer for retrieving work.

I do know here are a number of trainers in central and southern NJ, most not too awful far from Phila. There are also several trainers in the area west and north of Philly as well.

I would contact both your PA Navhda and one of the NJ Navhda groups and pick the brains of the officers. I know one of the NJ Navhda clubs trains at Colliers Mills WMA in southern NJ. There is also the Maryland Sporting Dog Association ( I think they just changed their name to Midlantic Sporting Dog Assn.) out of the Northern Md. area, the York Pointer and Setter Club with grounds in Wellsville, PA, the Freeland club up in Weatherly, PA and the English Setter Club in Medford, NJ. Most of these clubs have professional trainers who are members and who either train there or train members dogs, so you may get some solid recommendations for what you want your dog to be schooled on.

RayG