GSP pointing too close?

myersc

GSP pointing too close?

Post by myersc » Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:17 am

I have a 3 year old GSP who is going into her second year of pheasant hunting. I'm new to hunting and new to training hunting dogs, so everything I've learned is through books and forums such as this one.

I read a post that mentioned pointing too close which got me thinking. My GSP pointed very well and held her points until I flushed the bird. But almost all of her points are right on top of the bird. Is this too close? How close should a GSP be pointing on a pheasant?

If she is too close, how do you correct this?

Thanks.

bobman

Re: GSP pointing too close?

Post by bobman » Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:36 am

if she's close but the birds are not flushing and you do the flushing you have nothing to worry about. what you described is not unusual with pheasants in good cover they will often sit very tight

if she does accidentally bump a bird and flush it do not ever shoot that bird, this will teach her to be cautious and not crowd birds
currently two shorthairs, four english pointers, one Brittany, one SPRINGER a chihuahua and a min pin lol

ezzy333
GDF Junkie

Post by ezzy333 » Sun Sep 06, 2015 9:12 am

Too close is another term for flushing the bird IMO.
http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/4genview.php?id=144
http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/4genview.php?id=207

It's not how many breaths you have taken but how many times it has been taken away!

Has anyone noticed common sense isn't very common anymore.

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Post by Sharon » Sun Sep 06, 2015 1:51 pm

myersc wrote:I have a 3 year old GSP who is going into her second year of pheasant hunting. I'm new to hunting and new to training hunting dogs, so everything I've learned is through books and forums such as this one.