Couple questions about my new pup

DeLo727

Post by DeLo727 » Sat Nov 28, 2015 1:22 am

A little background on me and the pup to start...
I've had a lot of obedience training experience, including titled show dogs. However, this was with shelties which are notoriously easy to train and it was when I was younger. Point being that I have experience training dogs and the patience to do so. With that said, this is only the second hunting dog I have trained and the first didn't require much, he was a rockstar.
I have a new little French Brittany that I am completely in love with. His name is Louis and he's about 13 weeks right now. I've had him a touch over a month. Louis is a little troublemaker and I've run into some dilemmas with him. Here is what I'm dealing with.

Biting...Understanding that the breed can be a little nippier than some at a young age I am not as concerned with this as Im making it sound. Some days he understands that he can't nip and some days he doesn't care at all. He gets a little flick on the nose and a firm no but I'm not making much ground.
Potty...Louis is definitely understands that house accidents are unacceptable, but he's still having quite a few accidents. Im still learning his body language so Ill take some credit for the accidents but I feel like I'm following a good regiment. I take him outside frequently when I am home and he's crated while I'm working. When he has an accident you can tell he knows he did bad.