Dog won't retrieve live ducks.

jtg1551

Dog won't retrieve live ducks.

Post by jtg1551 » Sun Aug 14, 2016 7:51 pm

I have a 10 month old golden retriever who up until this point has done pretty good in all his training IMO! Obviously i'm not a professional, and I have not been following a program but everything I've done while training him he did good. He has been a retrieving machine since he was a puppy and brought back anything I threw to him (including a frozen duck from last year.) Moving forward I trained with him regularly with duck dummies and bumpers. I figured it was time to move to live birds and I bought some pigeons. Right away he became really birdy and retrieved just like normal. I've been using pigeons for about the past month or so and he does great. I recently found someone who sells farm ducks and pheasants, so I thought it would be good to move forward and go for the real thing. The first time out with it he ran up to the duck and sniffed it then the duck quacked and it startled the dog a little. Anytime the duck would try to run away the dog chases just like he does with the pigeons and then he just follows it. I tried a second time with another duck and same results. even after the duck died from other training with a different dog my dog still would not pick it up on a retrieve, he just runs up to it like he wants to pick it up, and then sniffs it and walks away. On a side note I purchased one pheasant and the dog chased and retrieved the pheasant just like he did with the pigeons.

Any suggestions, advice, similar situations? I'm sure there are a 1001 threads out there pertaining to live bird training, but i thought it would be worth it to share my situation personally in hopes of hearing some feedback. Thanks in advance

mnaj_springer

Re: Dog won't retrieve live ducks.

Post by mnaj_springer » Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:28 am