English setter won't point

Dlmino21

English setter won't point

Post by Dlmino21 » Fri Nov 11, 2016 11:00 am

lookong for some advice with training my 10 month old setter. This is my first time trying to train a bird dog and I just started working with pigeons and a launcher this week. I've probably used 20 birds over the last 4 or 5 days. This is his first exposure to birds in the field. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong, but he has not pointed any of the birds I planted for him. He is very excited about birds and chases them hard. He seems like he knows what he's looking for, but shows no signs of pointing. I've been launching the birds when he smells them and continues to move in. Is there something I'm doing wrong? Or something I can do different to get him pointing? Or am I expecting too much at this point. Any advice is appreciated, thank you.

Urban_Redneck

Re: English setter won't point

Post by Urban_Redneck » Fri Nov 11, 2016 4:03 pm

I don't know much myself (that won't stop me), but, you might be overloading the dog with 4 or 5 birds. Back off to one or two birds a session so he can process what happened.

My $0.02

bonasa

Post by bonasa » Fri Nov 11, 2016 4:13 pm

Is he gun broke yet? If not start with a blank and move up to a shotgun when he chases. Once you have that complete, stop what you are doing and get your dog on a proven program. The popular programs have many followers on this board and if you has trouble on a specific process, ask away. Breaking a dog isn't difficult while following a program, you and your dog will be fine.

Dakotazeb

Post by Dakotazeb » Fri Nov 11, 2016 4:26 pm

If you don't launch the birds when he moves in what will he do? Try a check cord to "whoa" him when he gets close.
Janee's August Breeze - Bree
http://gundogcentral.com/view_pedigree. ... erations=5

NSTRA Champion Godfather's Dakota Elle 2008-2016
https://gundogcentral.com/view_pedigree ... erations=5

Dlmino21