Is he ready for force fetch?

idahomarine

Is he ready for force fetch?

Post by idahomarine » Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:29 pm

I have a Vizsla/Brittany mix (3/4 V and ¼ Brittany) that turned 2 in January. We didn’t get out much his first season, but we made it out about 20 times this year (I’m lucky enough to live 13 minutes from public land). I got him to fetch by throwing a bumper in the garage, but as a novice I didn’t demand that he deliver it to hand and he's sloppy now. After reading up on it, I decided to force fetch him. I wanted to last summer and started, but ran out of time and he didn’t seem to be handling it well. I was following the toe pinch method by George Hickox. He would hold well, but I could never get him to reach for the dowel or bumper and he would get very stressed during the sessions. I ended up quitting because hunting season started and I figured it was better to let a young dog get out in the field rather than have him miss the first 3-4 weeks perfecting his backyard fetch.

Anyway, last hunting season he probably retrieved 50-60 birds (mainly waterfowl, but a few grouse and doves as well). He has great prey drive and no issues with the gun. He’s also great on his basic obedience so long as I have the collar on him, and still pretty good without it. However, last year I started hunting some smaller bodies of water and he developed an issue with his retrieves. If a bird landed in the water or on the near bank, he would bring it back (although not to hand). However, if the bird landed on the far bank, he would swim over, walk up to the bird, and then swim back without it (sometimes he would pick it up and drop it off at the far bank).

I’d like to try force fetching again. These are my questions:

1) Do you think that part of the problem the first time was that the dog was too young?