Wagon Wheel vs. 8 Handed Casting

themaninblack

Wagon Wheel vs. 8 Handed Casting

Post by themaninblack » Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:41 pm

First off let me start off by saying that I am a rookie trainer, training my first hunting dog. He is a black lab male and he is almost a year and a half old. Anyhow I have been working on single T for about a week and a half now and from what I know he is doing pretty good. I am trying to research and prepare to do lining drills and and casting drills (overs, backs and angle backs) already working on overs on T. I have read many posts and forums about wagon wheel and 8HC drills. The problem I am having is I have read people referring to wagon wheel as a lining drill and as a casting drill. Could someone please explain both the wagon wheel and 8HC in a manner that a rookie trainer can understand?

gundogguy

Re: Wagon Wheel vs. 8 Handed Casting

Post by gundogguy » Sat Aug 05, 2017 4:22 am

You should get a lot of explanation on this question. Instead of writing a book this short video will explain very nicely.
wagon wheel
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=75AbEUMo7H8

another view
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JKxg0WUq1_g

That will keep you and dog busy for a while best of fortunes.
I'm 100% in favor of LGBT - Liberty, Guns, Bacon and Trump.

themaninblack

Post by themaninblack » Mon Aug 07, 2017 9:08 am

gundogguy wrote:You should get a lot of explanation on this question. Instead of writing a book this short video will explain very nicely.
wagon wheel

another view

Okay I have now learned that wagon wheel is a lining drill... So what are drills that I can do for casting? I thought that was 8HC? Basically wagon wheel but with your dog placed in the center of the wheel at the axle if you will and you the handler giving casts (lefts, rights, backs, angle backs, angle ins etc... if that makes sense.

polmaise
GDF Junkie

Post by polmaise » Mon Aug 07, 2017 1:36 pm

themaninblack wrote: