Dog no longer holding point

Bentley822

Dog no longer holding point

Post by Bentley822 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 1:13 am

Hello all,

New member and new to the sport. I'm also an amateur seeking help. I recently purchased a one year old started setter female. There are wild birds around but not abundant in my area so I purchased pen raised quail. Worked my up to shooting a few over her with a 20 gauge and she done great. (She does chase). Long story short she caught two in a row because I wasn't prepared for the issue and now she points momentarily and busts in every time. I attempted to work on the issue yesterday with a CC and as soon as it's off she goes right back. Im aware there are similar posts here about similar issues but I'm very anxious to fix this. I was hopeful to hunt with her for our first season this year. She knows the whoa command but does not obey well when excited or on a bird. I just hope I haven't caused irreversible damage to the training. So how to proceed.... Wild birds ? Cage kicker and CC? Yard work only?

Dakotazeb

Re: Dog no longer holding point

Post by Dakotazeb » Wed Nov 22, 2017 8:06 am

When you say a 1 year old "Started" setter please explain what the dog had for training when you bought her.
Janee's August Breeze - Bree
http://gundogcentral.com/view_pedigree. ... erations=5

NSTRA Champion Godfather's Dakota Elle 2008-2016
https://gundogcentral.com/view_pedigree ... erations=5

DonF
GDF Junkie

Post by DonF » Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:01 am

Good old pen raised game bird. Easy for dog's to catch all to often. If your using a check cord, you need helper. helper handles the bird and you handle the dog. Your problem is you taught the dog it can catch the birds so that's what it does. Keep doing it that way until the dog no longer jumps with the bird. Better yer get a release trap and pigeon's. Lacking that, get the dog on wild birds and don't shoot any the dog doesn't handle well.
I pity the man that has never been loved by a dog!

RoostersMom